photos in the fog

Practice makes perfect.  Today I was taking multiple shots of the same scene and changing the f/stop and/or the exposure bias to see the changes on the final photos.  The first two photos demonstrate the difference of simply changing the f/stop.  I used the aperture priority setting on my camera and by changing the f/stop the shutter speed automatically adjusts itself.  In the first photo the f/stop is set at 4.2.  I focused on the power plant and with less light coming in the lens the fence in the foreground is barely visible.  In the second photo the f/stop is set to 18.  With more light coming through the lens the fence is more visible.  I like the composition of the last two photos and wanted to share them, yet they aren’t phenomenal photographs.  The basketball net is a bland photograph since there is no virtually no color. I will repost it after I have altered it in photoshop.  I like the lines and drops of water on the monkey bars but again the overwhelming amount of grey in the photo make it bland.  I will also run this photo through photoshop and see what I can do to make the picture pop.

Image

f/4.2, 1/500 sec, ISO-100, 0 step

Image

f/18, 1/30 sec, ISO-100, 0 step

 
Image

f/4.8, 1/1000 sec, ISO-200, 0 step

 
Image

f/4.5, 1/125 sec, ISO-200, +0.3 step

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

